So long, December.

It’s been too long since I’ve sat down to write.

I’ve had no energy, no desire, no internal fire to get me going.

My youngest, Emma, had a severe allergic reaction to amoxicillin. You don’t know what it’s like to feel powerless until you’re holding your tiny, red, puffed up toddler in your arms and you hear her gasping for air. You don’t know fear until you’re on the phone with a 911 dispatcher while crying and shaking because your child’s eyes are rolling back and her face has turned completely pale. You don’t know despair until you’re sitting in an ambulance holding your child and just asking over and over if she’ll be ok.

The ER nightmare lasted almost 2 weeks. It started with a cold and escalated into a life threatening situation. No one slept, no one ate well, no one showered or was able to relax. It was a hard time. It made me realize how much I’ve taken for granted and how I need to be more thankful.

I spend too much time on my phone. I don’t play enough with my girls. I pick my fiance apart for little things. I neglect myself.

Well, December, to you I say – Good riddance.

Here’s to another year, another opportunity, another chance to take action. Please stop waiting – Time is unforgiving.

Live, laugh, love… Today and always.

5 thoughts on “So long, December.

Leave a Reply

